Ice and snow lead to school closures and difficult driving conditions

Icy conditions and snow are causing problems for county residents again this morning with warnings for motorists to be cautious.

A yellow warning for ice has been issued for the entire region, with most waking to minus temperatures this morning after a weekend of snow and floods.

The warning for ice is in place until 11am this morning due the 'hard frost'.

The yellow ice warning issued by The Met Office

Gritters were out across the county last night in preparation.

Flood warnings have been lifted as the river levels drop back but flood barriers across the county will be remaining in place with the prospect of more rain later this week.

See the latest forecast from The Met Office here:

A number of schools have announced that they will be closed today due to the snow.

Shropshire Council area schools which have confirmed they will be closed today include:

Primary schools:

  • Alveley

  • Barrow (Free School)

  • Baschurch Primary

  • Bicton

  • Bishop Hooper, Ashford Carbonell

  • Bitterley

  • Brown Clee, Ditton Priors

  • Buildwas

  • Castlefields, Bridgnorth

  • Claverley

  • Clee Hill Community Academy

  • Cleobury Mortimer Primary

  • Cockshutt

  • Criftins

  • Farlow

  • Highley

  • John Wilkinson, Broseley

  • Kinlet

  • Kinnerley

  • Myddle

  • Selattyn

  • Sheriffhales

  • Shifnal Primary

  • Shrewsbury Cathedral Catholic Primary

  • St Andrew's, Nesscliffe

  • St John's Catholic, Bridgnorth

  • St Leonard's, Bridgnorth

  • St Mary's, Albrighton

  • Stokesay, Craven Arms

  • Stottesdon

  • TMBSS - Harlescott Education Centre including the Grove Hub and Meadows Hub

  • Trefonen

  • Woodside, Oswestry (Academy)

The following secondary schools are also announced as closed by Shropshire Council:

  • Church Stretton (Academy)

  • Corbet, Baschurch (Academy)

  • Lacon Childe, Cleobury Mortimer

  • Lakelands, Ellesmere (Academy)

  • Oldbury Wells, Bridgnorth

  • TMBSS - Hook A Gate Education Centre

  • TMBSS - Ludlow Education Centre

  • TMBSS - Oswestry Education Centre

  • TMBSS - Sundorne Education Centre

  • William Brookes, Much Wenlock (Academy)

The following special schools are also closed:

  • Acorns at Woodlands at Bishops Castle Community College

  • Woodlands special school, Wem


Telford & Wrekin Council area schools which have confirmed they will be closed today include:

  • Wrockwardine Wood Infant School & Nursery

  • Wrockwardine Wood C of E Junior School, Trench

  • Wrekin View Primary School & Nursery, Wellington

  • Wombridge Primary School (2112), Oakengates

  • Windmill Primary School, Brookside

  • Tibberton CE Primary School, Newport

  • The Bridge School, Hadley

  • Telford Priory School, Wrockwardine Wood

  • Telford Park School, Stirchley

  • Telford Langley School, Dawley

  • Teagues Bridge Primary School, Trench

  • St Peter's Edgmond, Edgmond

  • St Patrick's Catholic Primary School, Wellington

  • St Matthew's C of E (Aided) Primary School & Nursery Centre, Donnington

  • St Luke's Catholic Primary School, Trench

  • St Lawrence CE Primary School, Preston upon the Weald Moors

  • St George's CE Primary School, St Georges

  • SS Peter and Paul Catholic Primary School, Newport

  • Southall School, Dawley

  • Queenswood Primary School & Nursery, Ketley Bank

  • Queensway South, Dawley

  • Queensway HLC, Hadley

  • Priorslee Primary Academy, Priorslee

  • Old Park Primary School & Children's Centre, Dawley

  • Oakengates Children Centre, Oakengates – closed until January 29

  • Muxton Primary, Muxton

  • Milbrook Primary School, Leegomery

  • Madeley Nursery, Madeley

  • Lightmoor Village Primary School, Lightmoor Village

  • John Fletcher of Madeley Primary School, Madeley

  • Holy Trinity Academy, Priorslee

  • Haughton School, Madeley

  • Grange Park Primary School, Stirchley

  • Ercall Wood Technology College, Wellington

  • Donnington Wood Infant School and Nursery Centre, Donnington Wood

  • Donnington Wood CE Junior School, Donnington Wood

  • Dawley C of E Primary Academy, Dawley

  • Crudgington Primary School, Crudgington

  • Charlton School , Wellington

  • Burton Borough School, Newport

Powys County Council said four school closures had been confirmed:

  • Caereinion High School

  • Buttington/Trewern C.P. School

  • Sennybridge C.P. School

  • Ysgol Rhiw Bechan

Most Read

Most Read

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.

Top Stories

More from the Shropshire Star

UK & International News