Shropshire Star

Shropshire General Election candidates: Everyone standing for Parliament across the county on July 4

Prime Minister Rishi Sunak has called a surprise General Election and the people of Shropshire will go to the polls on July 4 to select their next MPs.

Last updated

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276

Shropshire's voters are split between five constituencies and all but one of the five seats are held by the Conservatives (Helen Morgan won North Shropshire for the Liberal Democrats in 2021).

There will be at least a few new faces representing the county in the next Parliament, whatever happens on election day - Lucy Allan and Philip Dunne, of Telford and Ludlow respectively, have already announced they are standing down after a combined 28 years as Shropshire MPs.

So who exactly is standing for which party, and where? It can be hard to keep up - so we're compiling all the names Shropshire residents will see on their ballot paper on election day. See the list below.

From left: Labour's Shaun Davies, standing in Telford; Conservative Daniel Kawczynski, MP for Shrewsbury; and Helen Morgan of the Liberal Democrats, MP for North Shropshire

Candidates for Telford

  • Conservatives: Hannah Campbell

  • Liberal Democrats: Jo McKenna

  • Reform UK: Alan Adams

  • Greens: John Adams

  • Workers Party: Allan Bailey

Candidates for The Wrekin

Candidates for Shrewsbury (formerly Shrewsbury and Atcham)

Candidates for North Shropshire

Candidates for South Shropshire (formerly Ludlow)