Shropshire Star

General Election called - Shropshire constituencies that will be key battlegrounds

Prime Minister Rishi Sunak has called a General Election for July 4.

Last updated

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276

Shropshire and Mid-Wales will be key battlegrounds as the Tories attempt to maintain their hold on the region.

Following the 2019 General Election that saw Boris Johnson romp to victory with an 80 seat majority, Shropshire, Telford & Wrekin and Mid-Wales were all left true blue.

However, the Tories were to face upset in 2021 when they lost the constituency of North Shropshire to the Liberal Democrats when Helen Morgan won a by-election following the resignation of Owen Paterson - he stepped down after the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards found he had breached paid advocacy rules.

While Ms Morgan will be keen to keep hold of her seat for the Lib Dems after the 31 per cent swing enjoyed by the party at the by-election, the Conservatives will be keen to win it back with their candidate Simon Baynes.

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.