Shropshire Star

Oswestry goes Green as Conservatives suffer in Shrewsbury Town Council election

Shropshire Council leader Peter Nutting suffered a second defeat in the local elections as the town council results came in.

Last updated
Green Julian Dean is likely to be the next Shrewsbury mayor after Gwen Burgess lost her seat

Shrewsbury Town Council

The Conservatives faced a near wipeout in the Shrewsbury Town Council poll, with Mr Nutting losing his Copthorne seat to the Liberal Democrats and town mayor Gwen Burgess suffering the same fate in Meole.

The results announced on Sunday mirrored those from the Shropshire Council elections which were revealed on Saturday and saw Mr Nutting's term as council leader come to an end. Lib Dem Rob Wilson beat him in both elections.

Ms Burgess's defeat means Shrewsbury could soon have its first Green mayor, with deputy mayor Julian Dean, who was re-elected in Porthill, expected to step up to the top job subject to a vote at the first meeting of the full council later this month.

Labour remains the biggest town council group with seven members, the Liberal Democrats are now in second place with six, and the Conservatives and Greens have two each.

The successful candidates were:

  • Mary Davies (Abbey – Lib Dem)

  • Alex Phillips (Bagley – Con)

  • Becky Wall (Battlefield – Con)

  • Kate Halliday (Belle Vue – Lab)

  • Alex Wagner (Bowbrook – Lib Dem)

  • Alan Mosley (Castlefields and Ditherington – Lab)

  • Rosemary Dartnall (Column – Lab)

  • Rob Wilson (Copthorne – Lib Dem)

  • Elisabeth Roberts (Harlescott – Lab)

  • Bernie Bentick (Meole – Lib Dem)

  • Pam Moseley (Monkmoor – Lab)

  • Julian Dean (Porthill – Green)

  • Nat Green (Quarry and Coton Hill – Lib Dem)

  • Chris Lemon (Radbrook – Green)

  • Kevin Pardy (Sundorne – Lab)

  • Phil Gillam (Sutton and Reabrook - Labour)

  • David Vasmer (Underdale – Lib Dem)

Oswestry Town Council

A Green surge in Oswestry saw the party take control of the town council, with 12 seats out of 18. The remaining six went to Conservatives.

Successful candidates included:

  • Conservatives Frank Davis, Mark Jones and Les Maguire in Cabin Lane ward

  • Greens Stephen Froggatt and Rosie Radford and Conservative Jessica Michie won in Cambrian

  • Greens Gemma Cassin and Sam Chadwick and Conservative John Price in Carreg Llwyd

  • Greens Mike Isherwood, Olly Rose and mayor Duncan Kerr won in Castle ward

  • Greens Jay Moore and Sian Kerr were elected in Gatacre

  • Greens Georgia Stackhouse and Jonathan Upton won in Maserfield ward

  • Paul Milner (Con) and Joshua Cockburn (Green) were elected in Victoria to complete the line-up.

Market Drayton Town Council

In Market Drayton, a hotly contested election saw the Conservatives lose control of the council, winning five seats while independent candidates took seven.

The successful candidates in the north ward were Tim Manton (ind), Mike Smith (ind), Matt Erwin (Con), Mark Whittle (Con), Ian Nellins (Con), Roger Hughes (ind).

Winning seats to represent the east ward were Tim Beckett (ind), mayor Roy Aldcroft (Con) and Baz Champan (ind).

Roger Smith (ind), Geoff Chevins (ind) and Anthony Allen (Con) were elected in south ward.


In Shifnal, John Moore of campaign group Shifnal Matters won a seat on the town council after taking one of the six seats in Manor ward, which was contested by seven candidates. He is the second member of the group to join the council.

Also winning seats were Ed Bird, Ellen Moore, Paul Williamson, Roger Cox and Gordon Tonkinson. Other wards were uncontested.

Bringewood ward in Ludlow was the only one of the town’s seven wards to have an election, with three candidates vying for two seats. Alan Tapley and Rose Jones were elected.

In Whitchurch, nine candidates came forward for just five seats in the north ward, with Jack Thornton, Pete Lea, Rose Hall, Alan Cooper and Alan Chesters coming out on top. East and west wards were uncontested.

Much Wenlock Town Council election saw 13 candidates in the running for 11 seats. Mayor Dan Thomas was elected along with, Chris Tyler, Mike Grace, Duncan White, Dave Fenwick, Marcus Themans, Sam Neal, Wilfred Grainger, Robert Toft, Mike Atherton and John O’Dowd.