Shropshire Star

General Election 2024: Recap Labour wins in Shrewsbury and Telford - and Tories holding The Wrekin

Labour took Shrewsbury and Telford in a bad night for the Conservatives that also saw the Liberal Democrats tighten their grip on North Shropshire.

Last updated

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276

Polls had been predicting a large Labour majority since even before Rishi Sunak called the election in May - and the results of the official exit poll released moments after voting closed at 10pm backed that up. By 5am, Labour had won enough seats to declare victory.

Telford & Wrekin Council leader Shaun Davies took Telford back for Labour, ending the Tories' nine-year stint in control of the seat, before Julia Buckley won in Shrewsbury to oust Daniel Kawczynski's 19-year stint in Parliament.

In The Wrekin, Tory Mark Pritchard held on by fewer than 1,000 votes.

Elsewhere, Lib Dem Helen Morgan extended her majority to comfortably win in North Shropshire.

The Conservatives' Stuart Anderson did win in South Shropshire.

And in Powys, Labour kept on making gains. The Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr constituency turned red for the first time in its history as disgraced former Conservative candidate Craig Williams slumped to third.

Meanwhile the Welsh Liberal Democrats are celebrating a return to Parliament after taking Brecon Radnor and Cwm Tawe from the Conservatives.

Catch up on all the night's happenings with our recap below, and stay glued to for more of the fallout from, and reaction to, a truly historic trouncing.