Shropshire Council elections: Time to pick your representative

By Lucy Todman | Bridgnorth | Politics | Published:

Nominations have closed for the local government elections set to take place next month. In Shropshire there are 74 seats spread across 63 divisions.Seventeen of these seats will be vacant after the previous councillors stood down.

Shropshire Council leader Malcolm Pate is hoping to retain his Albrighton seat but Mal Price the council’s portfolio holder for planning has decided to stand down from his Battlefield division. He has thrown his weight behind Dean Carroll, who formerly represented the Bagley ward on Shropshire Council and who is standing for the Conservatives and who will be up against Gianluca Cerritelli for Labour and Chris Davenport for the Greens.

Find out who is standing to be your councillor this May

Shrewsbury’s former mayor Miles Kenny has made the decision to cease representing the Underdale ward on the council which has led to a contest between four candidates.

Another former mayor of Shrewsbury, Beverley Baker of the Liberal Democrats will be battling it out with Wynn Davies of the Labour party and Alexander Phillips of the Conservatives for the Bagley ward following the departure of Dean Carroll.

In Broseley, which was a Labour seat, Jean Jones has withdrawn from the race so Gavin Goodall of Labour will be up against Simon Harries for the Conservatives.

In Shrewsbury, former mayor Jon Tandy is standing down in the Bayston Hill, Column and Sutton division although his Labour colleagues Ted Clarke and Jane MacKenzie are staying on and will be up against nine other candidates including Graham Ray of UKIP.

The departure of Labour’s Amy Liebich from Belle Vue has led to four candidates standing spread across the four parties.

Also in Shrewsbury, Tudor Bebb has decided to step down and three candidates are vying for his role representing Rea Valley.


The Conservatives John Everall of Tern has decided not to enter the race and four candidates are hoping to win his place.

The decision of John Cadwallader not to represent the Conservatives on Market Drayton east leaves the way open for Roy Aldcroft of the Conservatives and Rob Bentley of the Labour Party.

Rob Gittins or Len Surridge are hoping to take the place of Andrew Davies in Cheswardine and there are seven candidates for the Gobowen, Selattyn and Weston Rhyn seat. Voting will be held at various locations including village halls, schools and churches. The poll will be taken on May 4 between 7am and 10pm.

Lucy Todman

By Lucy Todman

Senior reporter for the Shropshire Star and Shrewsbury Chronicle based in Shrewsbury.


Top stories


More from Shropshire Star

UK & International News