Wolves boss Nuno claims Championship manager honour at LMA Awards

By Luke Hatfield | Wolves | Published:

Wolves boss Nuno Espirito Santo has claimed the Sky Bet Championship Manager of the Year honour at the LMA awards, which took place last night.

Nuno is handed his award by Roberto Martinez

The former Rio Ave, Valencia and Porto coach helped guide Wolves to the Championship title, winning 30 games this season.

His side also conceded the joint-fewest goals this season at 39, whilst also scoring the most of any side in the second tier, with 82.

Nuno claimed the award ahead of Cardiff City boss Neil Warnock, who was named EFL Championship manager of the season in April, a decision which was criticised by fans.


However, the Portuguese boss was beaten to the LMA manager of the year award by Pep Guardiola, who led Manchester City to the Premier League title, amassing 100 points in the process.

Guardiola won the award over Nuno, Warnock, Liverpool's Jurgen Klopp, Burnley's Sean Dyche and Accrington Stanley's John Coleman.

Warnock did claim an LMA Special Achievement Award for securing a record eighth promotion as manager. Sam Allardyce was honoured as part of the '1000 club' and entered in the Hall of Fame.

Meanwhile, former Aston Villa manager John Gregory was also honoured for becoming the first Englishman to win the Indian Super League with Chennaiyin FC.

Luke Hatfield

By Luke Hatfield

Digital Sports Journalist with the Express & Star and Shropshire Star.


Top stories


More from Shropshire Star


UK & International News