Shrewsbury Town League One 2018/19 fixture list revealed: Salop host Bradford in opener

By Joe Edwards | Shrewsbury Town FC | Published:

Shrewsbury Town will start the League One season by welcoming Bradford City to the Montgomery Waters Meadow.

John Askey

Town then head to Charlton Athletic, who they beat in last season's play-off semi-finals, and also have a trip to newcomers Luton Town before the end of August.

John Askey's side will travel to League Two champions Accrington Stanley on Boxing Day, and are at the Stadium of Light to take on promotion favourites Sunderland three days later.

They begin 2019 with a home clash against Joey Barton's Fleetwood Town.

Shrewsbury Town fixtures 2018/19: Joe Edwards and Nathan Judah discuss

Salop host fierce rivals Walsall on the final day of the campaign. They go to the Banks's Stadium on October 2.

The toughest run arguably comes in December when, as well as the aforementioned trips to Accrington and Sunderland, they face Burton Albion (away, Dec 8), Peterborough United (home, Dec 15) and Coventry City (home, Dec 22).

Other big matches at the Meadow come back-to-back in October as they take on Sunderland (Oct 20) and Barnsley (Oct 23), who were both relegated from the Championship at the end of last term. The long journey to Plymouth Argyle is on March 12.

Town are aiming to be strong once again, under new chief Askey, after losing the play-off final to Rotherham at Wembley last term.


This is their fourth straight season in League One. They are 33/1 to win the title.

Shrewsbury fixtures 2018/19


4 Bradford h


11 Charlton a

18 Blackpool h

21 Doncaster a

25 Luton a


1 Bristol Rovers h

8 Portsmouth a

15 Southend h

22 Scunthorpe a

29 Gillingham h


2 Walsall a

6 Accrington h

13 Fleetwood a

20 Sunderland h

23 Barnsley h

27 Oxford Utd a


A.F.C. Wimbledon a

17 Rochdale h

24 Wycombe a

27 Plymouth h


8 Burton Albion a

15 Peterborough h

22 Coventry h

26 Accrington a

29 Sunderland a


1 Fleetwood h

5 Bradford a

12 Charlton h

19 Blackpool a

26 Doncaster h


2 Luton h

9 Bristol Rovers a

16 Burton Albion h

23 Peterborough a


2 A.F.C. Wimbledon h

9 Rochdale a

12 Plymouth a

16 Wycombe h

23 Portsmouth h

30 Southend a


6 Scunthorpe h

13 Gillingham a

19 Barnsley a

22 Oxford Utd h

27 Coventry a


4 Walsall h

Joe Edwards

By Joe Edwards
Multi-Media Sports Journalist - @JoeEdwards_Star

Sports reporter for the Express & Star and Shropshire Star.


Top stories


More from Shropshire Star

UK & International News