Line-up for top divisions is confirmed

Cricket | Published:

The line-up for the top two divisions of Shropshire cricket in 2019 has been confirmed.

Line-up for top divisions is confirmed

A management committee meeting of the Henshalls Insurance Shropshire Cricket League this week ratified the proposals.

Wellington, Newport and Whitchurch – all relegated from the Birmingham League, which will now have two divisions instead of four – will be in the Premier Division. Allscott Heath, last year’s Division One champions, have had their promotion confirmed.

Three teams – Frankton, Newtown and Cound – have been relegated from the Premier Division to Division One.

The rest of the divisions (Saturday 2-8 and Sunday 1-2) will be finalised in early November after the cut-off date of October 31 for clubs to confirm their entries for 2019.

The structure for the remaining divisions will be announced at the AGM on Monday, November 26 at 7pm at St Georges CC.

Premier Division 2019: Wellington 1st XI, Newport 1st XI, Whitchurch 1st XI, Wem 1st XI, Quatt 1st XI, Sentinel 1st XI, Madeley 1st XI, Worfield 1st XI, Ludlow 1st XI, Bomere Heath 1st XI, St Georges 1st XI, Allscott Heath 1st XI.

Division One 2019: Frankton 1st XI , Newtown 1st XI , Cound 1st XI , Shelton 1st XI, Knockin and Kinnerley 1st XI, Pontesbury 1st XI, Alberbury 1st XI, Beacon 1st XI, Shifnal 2nd XI, Shrewsbury 2nd XI, Bridgnorth 2nd XI, Ellesmere 1st XI.

The committee have also agreed Clubmark is mandatory for clubs in the top three divisions of the Shropshire League, but with a moratorium for 2019 only for any team in that division that isn’t accredited at the start of the season.

From 2020 onwards, all teams in the top three divisions will have to carry Clubmark by October 31 of the previous year – this will apply to all clubs being promoted up from Division Three as well.


Top stories


More from Shropshire Star


UK & International News