Which local authorities have been categorised as ‘high’ and ‘very high’ risk?

The Prime Minister has announced a three-tier approach to coronavirus restrictions in England.


Boris Johnson has announced a three-tier approach to coronavirus restrictions with all of England put into medium, high and very high risk categories.

The Prime Minister set out the simplified and standardised system in a bid to stem the surge in Covid-19 cases.

Covid-19 alert levels in England
(PA Graphics)

Here is a breakdown of the areas under each level of the new alert system.

Very high:

Liverpool City Region
– Liverpool
– Knowsley
– Wirral
– St Helens
– Sefton
– Halton


– Cheshire West and Chester
– Cheshire East

Greater Manchester
– Manchester
– Bolton
– Bury
– Stockport
– Tameside
– Trafford
– Wigan
– Salford
– Rochdale
– Oldham

– Warrington

– High Peak – the wards of: Tintwistle, Padfield, Dinting, St John’s, Old Glossop, Whitfield, Simmondley, Gamesley, Howard Town, Hadfield South and Hadfield North

Covid-19 alert levels in England
(PA Graphics)

– Lancashire
– Blackpool
– Preston
– Blackburn with Darwen
– Burnley

West Yorkshire
– Leeds
– Bradford
– Kirklees
– Calderdale
– Wakefield

South Yorkshire
– Barnsley
– Rotherham
– Doncaster
– Sheffield

North East
– Newcastle
– South Tyneside
– North Tyneside
– Gateshead
– Sunderland
– Durham
– Northumberland

Tees Valley
– Middlesbrough
– Redcar and Cleveland
– Stockton-on-Tees
– Darlington
– Hartlepool

West Midlands
– Birmingham
– Sandwell
– Solihull
– Wolverhampton
– Walsall

– Leicester
– Oadby and Wigston

– Nottinghamshire
– Nottingham City


All other areas in England.

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.

Top Stories

More from the Shropshire Star

UK & International News