No election for Bridgnorth Town Council due to candidate shortage

There will be no election held for Bridgnorth Town Council next week as a mass exodus of 10 serving councillors means there are not enough candidates to fill the available seats.

Only 13 people have put themselves forward to stand for the Bridgnorth Town Council election
Only 13 people have put themselves forward to stand for the Bridgnorth Town Council election

Just 13 people have put themselves forward for 16 positions and all are elected unopposed.

It means there is no need for an election on May 6 as planned, though voters in the town will still get to cast ballots in the Shropshire Council and Police and Crime Commissioner elections on the same day.

Just five of the 15 current councillors will continue in their posts and will be joined by a raft of new faces, while the three vacancies will need to be filled by co-option or by-election at a later date.

In the East ward, mayor Kirstie Hurst-Knight is stepping down as is former mayor Ron Whittle.

Councillor Hurst-Knight will however run for election to Shropshire Council, as one of two Conservative candidates standing in Bridgnorth East and Astley Abbotts.

Standing down in West ward are Helen Howell, Sarah Stevens and Carol Whittle. Councillor Howell is also hoping to make the step up to unitary councillor and will contest Worfield division for the Liberal Democrats.

Likewise Richard Fox, who will step down from the town council’s Morfe ward but is standing in the Shropshire Council election, hoping to win Brown Clee for the Lib Dems.

Councillors Clive Dyson and Edward Marshall will also step down from representing Morfe ward, while Geoff Davies and Cecilia Walden will both stand aside in Castle ward.

Two of the five returning town councillors are also running for election to Shropshire Council, as are five of the eight newcomers.

Liberal Democrat councillor David Cooper, who represents Castle, and Labour councillor Julia Buckley, one of the East ward members, will both stand in the two-member Bridgnorth West and Tasley division on the unitary council, as will new town councillor Rachel Connolly, also for Labour.

Labour’s Arlie Chetter and Alexa Buffey and Lib Dem Nicky Cooper, who have won seats on the town council for the first time, are standing for election to Shropshire Council in Bridgnorth East and Astley Abbotts.

Another new face on the town council, Charlotte Round, will contest the unitary seat of Highley for Labour.


The full list of candidates is as follows:

Castle (4 seats): Sarah Barlow, Arlie Chetter, David Cooper

East (4 seats): Julia Buckley, Nicky Cooper, David Wellings

Morfe (4 seats): Alexa Buffey, Charlotte Round, Liz Rochelle, Karen Sawbridge

West (4 seats): Luke Neal, Rachel Connolly, Connie Baines

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.

Top Stories

More from the Shropshire Star

UK & International News