Just 10 candidates come forward for 12 seats in Ellesmere

Voters in Ellesmere will not get to decide their new town councillors in next month’s local elections as only 10 candidates have come forward for 12 seats.


It means there will once again be no town council election, following previous polls in 2017 and 2013 which also failed to attract enough candidates.

The shortfall this year comes as three serving councillors step down and just one new candidate was seeking election - Peter Jones.

Former mayor Ryan Hartley is standing aside as are John Frost and Nick Cull.

Among the current councillors returning to serve another term are town mayor Paul Goulbourne and deputy mayor Ann Wignall.

Meanwhile councillors Geoff Elner and Alison Devismes have both entered the race to become the town’s next unitary councillor.

Councillor Elner is standing for the Conservatives in the Shropshire Council election while Councillor Devismes is standing for Labour. There is also a Liberal Democrat candidate, Rod Keyes.

The poll will be held on May 6 alongside the Police and Crime Commissioner election.

The candidates are as follows: Alison Devismes, Geoff Elner, Paul Goulbourne, Mark Hancock, Tim Hunter, Graham Hutchinson, Peter Jones, David Lunn, Joan Mowl, Ann Wignall

Top Stories

More from the Shropshire Star

UK & International News