Shropshire's town and parish council election results

By Lisa O'Brien | Politics | Published: | Last Updated:

Some managed to cling on to their seats, while others lost out in Shropshire's town and parish council elections.

The results are in

New faces will also be joining many councils across the county following the results announced today.

In the Shrewsbury Town Council elections, Beverley Baker failed to defend her Bagley seat, losing out to Conservative candidate Alexander Phillips, with a difference of just 81 votes.

Alan Mosley retained his seat to represent the Castlefields and Ditherington ward, with 906 votes.

Peter Nutting also retained his Copthorne seat, as did Kevin Pardy for the Sundorne ward and Ioan Jones for the Harlescott seat.

Labour candidate Phil Gillam won the Sutton and Reabrook seat with 789 votes.

Liberal Democrats candidate Nat Green won the Quarry and Coton Hill seat and Nic Laurens (Conservative) was elected to represent the Meole ward.

Harry Taylor (Labour) will represent Belle Vue, Keith Roberts (Conservative) was chosen to keep his Radbrook seat and Pam Moseley retained her seat for the Monkmoor ward.

David Vasmer (Liberal Democrats) was elected to represent Underdale.


Green Party candidate Julian Dean was selected for the Porthill seat and Hannah Fraser retained her seat for Abbey, as did Jane McKenzie for the Column ward.

Peter Adams retained his Bowbrook seat and Conservative candidate Becky Wall will represent the Battlefield ward.

In the Market Drayton Town Council elections, Conservative candidates Roy Aldcroft, Tim Beckett and Steve Glover retained their seats for the east ward.

Conservative candidate John Cadwallader and Independent candidate Ian Smith were elected to represent the town's south ward.


Jill Beckett also retained her seat.

Those elected to represent the north ward were Conservative candidates Matt Erwin, John Gough, Rebekah Gould, Roger Hughes, Christopher Purcell and Mark Whittle.

Oswestry mayor, Councillor Paul Milner, and Sandy Best retained their seats on Oswestry Town Council, representing the Victoria ward.

Green Party candidate Duncan Kerr retained his seat to represent the Castle Ward.

Fellow Green Party candidates Mike Isherwood and Olly Rose will also represent the same ward.

Tory candidate Vince Hunt, who got 296 votes, and Rebecca Evans (Independent), who received 234 votes, were elected in the Maserfield Ward.

Christopher Schofield retained his seat on the town council to represent the Cambrian ward.

Fellow Conservative candidate Julie Edwards and Green Party candidate Nikki Hughes were also elected.

Conservative candidates Clare Aspinall and Thomas Jones won seats to represent the Cabin Lane ward.

Independent candidate Peter Cherrington also retained his seat.

Green Party candidate Barry Edwards won the majority in the election to represent the Gatacre ward, with 215 votes.

Conservative candidate James Moore, who secured 125 votes, was also elected to represent the same ward.

Michael Coppock won a seat for the Carreg Llwyd Ward, while Councillor Steven Mason and John Price retained their seats.

The candidates elected onto Abdon and Heath Parish Council were Lee Durnall, Rowland Price, Christopher Snow, Gary Trim and Christopher Yarwood.

Elected in Baschurch were Jonathan Carr, Terence Feltus, Bernard Leeden, John Lloyd, Lyn McMaster, Sarah Richards, Paul Ridgeley, Gerry Tomlins and Brian Welti.

Seats on Cardington Parish Council were won by John Davies, Chris Maydew, John McMillan, Jim Norris, Steven Pennington, Victoria Rogers, Andrew Seabury and Clive Tonks.

Richard Clarkson, John Conde, William Higgins, Tim Perkins, David Taylor and Paul Taylor will all sit on Church Pulverbatch Parish Council after being elected.

Beverley Gill and Suzanne Gill were both elected onto Condover Parish Council.

Doreen Roberts and Richard Roycroft were elected to Kenley Parish Council.

Elected onto Melverley Parish Council were Stuart Clarke, Martin Davies, Bryan Edwards, Sally Herbert-Jones and Catherine Jones.

Meanwhile, Philip Duffy, Chris Dutton, Melanie Joyce, Philip Nuttall and Caroline Wellon take their spots on Moreton Say Parish Council.

Lawrence Foulsham, Roger Jones and Ray Tiernan will sit on Myddle, Broughton and Harmer Hill Parish Council.

Elected onto Neen Savage Parish Council were Susan Del Mar, George Haywood, Stephen Hinton, Arthur Ratcliff, Olwen Sales, Michael Tomkinson and Andy Vanderhook.

Successful candidates joining Stoke upon Tern Parish Council include Susan Bartram, Philip Butters, Sarah Planton, Pete Waters and Richard Wright.

Lisa O'Brien

By Lisa O'Brien
Senior Reporter - @lisaobrien_Star

Senior reporter based at Shropshire Star's head office in Ketley. Covering the Telford area.


Top stories


More from Shropshire Star

UK & International News