Author completes Ironbridge trilogy

Historical novelist Mollie Walton completes a hat-trick of books inspired by her fascination with Ironbridge with her latest tale, The Orphan of Ironbridge.

Rebecca Mascull, who writes as Mollie Walton.
Rebecca Mascull, who writes as Mollie Walton.

Mollie, the pen name for critically acclaimed historical novelist Rebecca Mascull, has always been fascinated by history and her original inspiration for her trilogy came on a trip to Shropshire, while gazing down from the Iron Bridge.

Her debut saga novel The Daughters of Ironbridge, interweaving a fictional story with historical fact, was followed by The Secrets of Ironbridge.

Rebecca has previously worked in education, has a Masters degree in writing, and lives by the sea in the east of England. She has visited Shropshire as part of her researches.

The Orphan of Ironbridge is set in 1875. Central character Hettie Jones has grown up in the town, and works as a pit girl at the local coal mine.

She has never known her father and since her mother's death has been brought up by the Malone family.

She trains then as a ladies' maid at a grand house and is hurtled into a world of luxury and gentility, which she finds hard to reconcile with her past life and friends.

The Orphan of Ironbridge is published by Zaffre and is launched on April 15, priced £7.99.

Most Read

Most Read

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.

Top Stories

More from the Shropshire Star

UK & International News