Hundreds turn out for 50th anniversary of Longmynd Hike

By Andrew Morris | Entertainment | Published:

More than 500 people turned out for the 50th anniversary of one of Shropshire’s most picturesque walking challenge – the Longmynd Hike.

Longmynd Hike

The 50-mile, 24-hour Longmynd Hike returned last weekend with 582 people turning out to take part.

A host of prizes were handed out the winners in a number of categories, with the top Longmynd Staff award going to Simon Adney, who finished in a time of eight hours and 25 minutes.

The Junior Longmynd Staff was claimed by Elliot Davies in a time of 18 hours and nine minutes. Both of the winners were from Shrewsbury. George Davies, Brian Faulkner and Mike Alley, three of the people who set the event up 50 years ago, were all invited back to present awards to this year’s hikers.

The Gill Harris Ladies Trophy was shared by three people for the first time – Helen Stokes of Eccleshall, Rachel Bollom of All Stretton, and Charlotte Edwards of Newport _ who finished in 10 hours and 49 minutes. The Scout Staff went to David Bell of Bromsgrove for a time of 14 hours and five minutes.

The 2nd Longmynd Scout Staff was awarded to Diana Parsons of 2nd Longmynd Scout Group for a time of 16 hours and 16 minutes.

Further awards saw the Novice Trophy awarded to Sam Robson of Shrewsbury for a time of nine hours and 23 minutes, The West Mercia Police Trophy to Becky Greenwood of London for a time of 13 hours and 48 minutes, and the the Swain Shield to Andy Davies of Church Stretton for his time of eight hours and 30 minutes.

Terry Davies and Angie Walshaw of 2nd Longmynd received the Eric Broome Staff for a joint time of 17 hours and 16 minutes, while the Raven Trophy went to Sara Houlton of Stafford for her time of 14 hours and 22 minutes, and Paul Gresty of Wem claimed the Over the Hill Trophy for a time of 12 hours and 51 minutes.

Peggy’s Plate went to Kim Bennett of Telford for a time of 13 hours and 35 minutes, and the Longmynd Team Trophy went to the Mercia Fell Runners Team of Simon Adney, Andy Davies, David Chetton and James Adney for a combined time of 26 hours 41 minutes.

The Longmynd Scout Trophy, a new team trophy, went to Diana Parsons, Terry Davies and Angie Walshaw of 2nd Longmynd Scout Group with a combined time of 50 hours 48 minutes. Organisers said they wished to thanks to all those who took part, the volunteers, and 2nd Longmynd Scouts who also helped out.

Andrew Morris

By Andrew Morris
Content Manager - @AndyMorrisStar


Top stories


More from Shropshire Star


UK & International News